Jan 6, 2010

NFL Postseason Awards

The AP has started handing out their postseason awards, with Houston LB Brian Cushing receiving the Defensive Rookie of the Year award. He would have been my choice as well. Here's a look at how I would have voted for the different awards:

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Percy Harvin, WR/KR, Minnesota - he was dynamic as a receiver and a return man
Offensive Player of the Year: Chris Johnson, RB, Tennessee - 2,000 yards rushing, new record for total yards from scrimmage
Defensive Player of the Year:
Charles Woodson, DB, Green Bay - it's hard not to go with Darren Sharper, but Sharper did his damage early, Woodson was a monster late in the year, so he's fresh in voter's eyes
MVP: Peyton Manning, QB, Indianapolis/Drew Brees, QB, New Orleans (Co-MVPs) - the two best QBs on the two best teams, lead their clubs to 14-0 and 13-0 starts
Coach of the Year: Sean Payton, New Orleans - despite a late season losing streak, Payton coached the league's most dominant team for most of the season. The Saints early season games weren't just dominate performances, they weren't even close
Comeback Player of the Year: Tom Brady, QB, New England - an up and down season for New England, but Brady has them back in the playoffs after missing last season with a knee injury. Brady may get all 50 votes here

No comments: