Nov 22, 2008

Magnolia Bowl I


A week after staging the largest comeback in program history (after being down 31-3 to Troy), LSU takes on rival Ole Miss in the first annual Magnolia Bowl. The student governments of the two schools got together to name this rivalry game, and Magnolia Bowl won.

There is a ton of history between LSU and Ole Miss and this year's game shouldn't disappoint. The word is that the winner of this matchup will be selected to go to the Cotton Bowl in Dallas on Jan. 2. That adds some stakes for the two schools who are already bowl eligible. LSU will be honoring its senior class and recognizing the 1958 National Championship team during the game.

Here's LSU's 2008 Senior Class

No. Name Pos. Hometown
2 Demetrius Byrd WR Miami, Fla.
5 Chad Moody DB Baton Rouge, La.
6 Colt David PK Grapevine, Texas
17 Josh Graham PK Covington, La.
27 Curtis Taylor S Franklinton, La.
38 Brady Dalfrey P Carencro, La.
40 Caleb Angelle TE Breaux Bridge, La.
45 Quinn Johnson FB Edgard, La.
47 Tremaine Johnson DE Galena Park, Texas
48 Darry Beckwith LB Baton Rouge, La.
49 Kirston Pittman DE Garyville, La.
50 Phillip Pigott FB Pearl River, La.
63 Ryan Miller C Lake Charles, La.
74 Brett Helms C Stuttgart, Ark.
79 Herman Johnson OG Olla, La.
91 Charles Alexander DT Breaux Bridge, La.
93 Tyson Jackson DE Edgard, La.
94 Donald Hains DL Diamondhead, Miss.
99 Marlon Favorite DT Harvey, La.

There are some good names on that list with some players who will be missed. The LSU fans want to send them off in style with a victory in Tiger Stadium.

LSU 27
Ole Miss 20

No comments: